Angkor Wat – Siem Reap, Cambodia

Ruins, for me, are the beginning. With the debris, you can construct new ideas. They are symbols of a beginning. – Anselm Kiefer

One of the most memorable experiences during the last months of my trip (of which I will post more entries as soon as I have some time left, but so far travelling keeps me really busy πŸ˜‰ ) was for sure the visit of the Angkor archeological sites in Siem Reap, Cambodia. The complex contains so many stunning structures and ruins, an assembly of stones, each of them telling a story reaching back to a time where kings and godkings ruled the empire. A time where the strength and cleverness of normal men resulted in beautiful, impressive monuments that make nowadays visitors wonder how that was possible. How much time, effort and sacrifices had to be made in order accomplish what the people back then did.

111

I honestly don’t want to write a big text about what I’ve seen. Instead I decided to post pictures of my three day exploration of the Angkor complex, three days that left me in a state of constant enchantment. Unfortunately the pictures can only capture a small part of the stunning beauty of the sites, but at least they will give you a rough idea about what I’ve seen during the last couple of days:

Day 1 – Big Circuit (Preah Khan, Ta Som, Neak Pean, Pre Rup)

Bonus: Young monks at the temples

Day 2 – Small Circuit (Angkor Wat, Bayon, Ta Kea, Ta Prohm, Banteay Kdei)

Sunrise at Angkor Wat (final picture)

DSC06580

Sunrise at Angkor Wat (reality) πŸ˜‰

Further Angkor Wat pictures

Bayon Temple (one of my favourites!)

Ta Prohm (for all fans of the movie Tomb Raider)

Day 3 – Own tour (Banteay Srei, Chau Say Thevoda, Thommanom, Angkor Thom Complex, Angkor Wat)

I would definitely recommend to buy a three day pass as I could have easily spend one more day at the temples, to wear appropriate clothing (cover up a bit) and to go to Angkor Wat for sunset. Although the guards will kick you out before the sun is completely down, you will see Angkor shining in the light of the sun and possibly get a shot of the complex without any or with barely any person in the picture:

DSC07161

(Quiz: Who finds the one person remaining? πŸ˜‰ )

Angkor Wat and the other temples appeared so magical to me that it felt strange to exit the park for the last time and to say goodbye on my last day there. I had a fabulous time that I shared with way too many other tourists (as you can see in the first picture, haha :D) but still I would hope that they felt the same bewitching atmosphere as me.

Bisous, Jana ❀

PS: It didn’t really fit in the post, but apart from temples we also discovered our favourite tree around:

DSC07129
22.02.2016
Leave a Reply

